My “Cup for Cup” Gluten-Free Flour Winner (and a muffin recipe)

62446_341086476024329_2086992650_nBefore I began eating gluten-free, I loved to bake. Lunchboxes for school and work were filled with regular homemade muffins and cookies, and on weekends, we often indulged fresh-baked bread and sweets. Following a gluten-free lifestyle seemed to mean I would no longer enjoy such indulgences. I tried many recipes and combinations but was not satisfied with the flavors or textures of the baking… and all of this experimenting was turning into a pricey pastime!

Well, months later, and a tip from a friend of mine, and I think I have found the key to making really tasty baking once again! No pre-purchased mix necessary! It consists of only four ingredients, and if you have been gluten-free for a while, you probably already have these ingredients in your pantry.

 

Drum roll, please…. the  cup-for-cup gluten-free flour winner is:

1/3 cup organic brown or white rice flour (I use Silver Hills, but Bob’s Red Mill also works nicely for this)

1/3 cup organic tapioca flour (I use West Point Naturals)

1/3 cup organic, non-GMO cornstarch (I use Baker’s Supply House, as it specifies that it is non-GMO)

1 teaspoon xanthan gum (Even though this product is not labeled organic, I use Bob’s Red Mill because they have a reputable brand)

 

That’s it! I have used it in cookies, muffins, and a white cake recipe (which all called for wheat flour) and I have been very impressed with the results so far. To give you an example of how wonderful this can be, I have included a recipe for you using fresh, local blueberries. I usually have one muffin and freeze the rest so that they are there waiting when a craving calls.

 

Gluten-Free Blueberry Muffins

3/4 cup organic butter, room temperature

2/3 cup organic, non-GMO sugar

2 organic eggs

Beat together butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, until incorporated.

1 1/2 cups gluten-free four mix (see above)

1/2 cup almond flour (Bob’s Red Mill makes one)

1 1/2 teaspoons gluten-free baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl, and stir so that flour mixture is smooth.

3/4 cup sour cream, full fat

Juice and zest of one lemon

Combine in a bowl.

Gently stir in dry and wet ingredients into butter mixture.

2 cups blueberries, separated

Fold in one cup of blueberries into the batter. Place large scoops (I use an ice cream scooper) into lined muffin tins. (I use If You Care brand muffin liners, as they are unbleached)

With the remaining cup, press about six blueberries into the top of each muffin.

Bake at 350 Fahrenheit for approximately 30 minutes.

Makes twelve very delicious muffins. And no one will ever guess these are gluten-free!

One thought on “My “Cup for Cup” Gluten-Free Flour Winner (and a muffin recipe)

Leave a Reply

