Schobel Supp: Summer Bean Soup

DSC_1068Schobel Supp in low-German, or bean soup, is a food closely connected to childhood memories in my grandma’s kitchen, stirring a pot on the stove, or measuring out ingredients into a bowl. My grandma always had a collection of aprons hanging along side her fridge, and she would always let me choose which one I wanted to wear. She would hastily cinch it around my waste, and then don one herself so we could get down to the business of cooking or baking.

I have a large stockpot of bean soup cooling on my stovetop as I write this, and although I am not wearing an apron (I don’t know why I always forget to put one on!), I can’t help think of my grandma.

We have been harvesting and eating beans all week, and this morning we still had several pounds of green and purple beans that needed to be used up. Today was the perfect day for a summer soup, since we have had a bit of rain, and with it, cooler temperatures. Subtly seasoned with summer savory, this soup is a delicious way to utilize the overabundance of beans in the garden right now.

 

Schobel Supp

8 cups of organic chicken stock (homemade, if possible)
4-5 cups of beans, trimmed and cut into approx. 1 inch (2.5 cm) pieces
2 medium white or yellow onions, diced
2 carrots, diced
4 potatoes, peeled and diced
1 ring of farmer sausage (a mild, smoked sausage), or 3 cups of ham, cubed
2 teaspoons fresh summer savory, or 1 teaspoon dried
1 tsp. sea salt, plus more to taste, depending on how salty the stock is
1 tsp. fresh ground pepper

 

Directions

Begin by browning the cubes of sausage or ham in the pot to give it a nice caramelized flavor.
Add the onions and carrots to the pot to gently cook them.
Once they are soft, add the stock, beans, potatoes and seasoning to the pot.
Allow to simmer together for at least one hour.
Taste the soup and add more sea salt if necessary.
My grandparents always finished it off with a bit of cream.
My kids add a bit of milk to their bowls to help cool it off.
Serves 6

Leave a Reply

