Chickpea & Flax Seed Banana Loaf

 

DSC_1171Banana loaf is a snack food that kids seem to gravitate to. My kids sure do. And its the kind of treat that, as a mom, I didn’t have a problem making for them, or ordering for them when we were out… that is, until we started eating gluten-free. I tried to recreate my original recipe, experimenting with many different gluten-free flour combinations, but without success. I had put it out of my mind until recently, when I began brainstorming about back to school lunches. I decided to give this banana loaf recipe another chance, and finally, a recipe my whole family enjoys!

The combination of garbanzo bean (chickpea) flour and ground flax seeds provide a good source of protein and fiber, while the butter, honey and maple syrup give it that rich, sweet flavor, reminiscent of the classic. And not only is this recipe gluten-free, it’s grain-free! So whether you are packing this in your kids’ lunches, or bringing it to the next potluck you attend, this is sure to be a treat for kids and adults alike.

 

Banana Loaf

1/3 cup butter (organic, if possible), room temperature, plus

2 tablespoons butter to grease loaf pans

1/2 cup pure maple syrup

1/4 cup local, unpasteurized honey

2 large, organic  bananas, mashed

2 farm fresh eggs

1 cup garbanzo bean flour (I like Anita’s Organic)

1/2 cup tapioca flour (I like Westpoint Naturals)

1/4 cup ground flax seeds

1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 cup chocolate chips (I like Camino brand), optional (I say optional because my husband and I really enjoyed it without, but to make it lunchbox worthy, a few chocolate chips to coax the kiddos to eat it isn’t a bad idea!)

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease two, standard sized loaf pans.

In a large bowl, blend together butter, honey and maple syrup.

Add mashed bananas and blend to incorporate.

Add eggs, one at a time, and blend to incorporate.

Sift garbanzo bean flour, tapioca flour, baking soda and salt into wet ingredients.

Add flax and mix to combine wet and dry ingredients.

Fold in chocolate chips, if using.

Pour batter into loaf pans.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Makes 20 slices.

Leave a Reply

