A Practical Bouquet of Lemons

A bouquet of lemonsI love adding lemon juice and zest to recipes. It adds such a fresh, bright flavor to a dish. Just as a basket of lemons brings brightness to the room. I love flowers, don’t get me wrong, but I am a girl of practicalities, and when I can enjoy something that is also very functional, I get pretty excited. To me, this bouquet is as useful as it is pretty (or, maybe it’s pretty because its useful?) Anyway, when I want to include the juice or zest of a lemon in a recipe, I always have it on hand. If the lemons are getting a bit wilted, or if I have bought new ones, I simply freeze the lemon zest in a jar, and freeze the juice into an ice cube tray so that I can use it at a later time.

 

Some recipes that lemons have made their way into include (but are not limited to):

Pancakes, marinades, jams, fruit sauces, cookies, salsa, yogurt, pesto, fruit crisp, cake, salad dressing, muffins, homemade lemon pepper, fish dishes, chicken dishes, sweetened iced tea, lemonade, steamed veggies, chutney, hollandaise, lemon curd, homemade “buttermilk”, canned fruit, and granola bars.

 

What practical indulgences do you keep in your kitchen?

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Practical Bouquet of Lemons

  1. I love lemons too! I use their juice in so many recipes! What a brilliant idea to freeze the juice of lemons ‘passing’…my practical indulgences are fresh herbs – I love seeing them in my fridge and on the counter top – plus their aroma (especially basil) is divine!

Leave a Reply

