Grow. Cook. Eat. Share. Turns One!

Today is the first blog-iversary for Grow. Cook. Eat. Share. We’ve been pretty busy around here this past year. For those of you interested, here are some highlights from our family’s activities and experiences this year.

Healthy Eating Habits Start Young

Our Celebrations

Our baby turned two this year. Which means I no longer have a baby. A stage in my life is over, and we are entering a new chapter as a family. While I am sad to be saying goodbye to the baby stage (one decade after it began!), I am so excited to see how our family grows from here!

Mr. Green Thumb and I celebrated ten years of marriage this past year. It seems like it has been ages, and it seems like we just blinked. It’s been a lot of long days, and a decade worth of years that just evaporated. It has been a wonderful journey with a wonderful man that I love!

One year on my gluten free journey. And I can’t even imagine living the way I used to with all of the symptoms that made me feel so awful so much of the time. My health journey is not over yet, but I am so thankful for how far I have come.

Boogie boarding in Maui

Our Activities

Our first big family trip to celebrate our anniversary and our family. It was wonderful and chaotic, and exciting and exhausting all at the same time. We explored some great restaurants, farms, and beaches, and savored the time we had, playing and relaxing together as a family.

Our move to the new house and property. We’ve been gardening as long as we have had a place to put a bit of dirt. But this is on a scale unlike we could have dreamed. Our plans will unfold in stages, and are only in their infancy, but we will one day, hopefully, have a working farm and garden.

My experiments with new recipes and foods. I’ve had a lot of fun experimenting in the kitchen this year. I’ve discovered some great gluten free recipes, and had a few epic fails. My family has even come to appreciate a few new foods, like kale and kombucha.

Chicken and the dog saying Hi

Our New Additions

Our darling puppy, Scarlett. She is sweet, and hyper, and kind of like another kid. She is the perfect addition. She is small enough for our littlest sprout, and yet not too small that she can’t handle a bit of rough and tumble. Our kids love her the way she loves teasing the girls in the coop.

Our eleven lively hens (or maybe ten and a rooster?). As I’ve said already, they have quickly climbed the ladder from an experiment in food production to lovely little pets. They have since been spared the fate of the pot and will live a long, happy life.

My supportive community of fellow bloggers and friends! I have enjoyed getting to know some wonderful bloggers, farmers, artists, and gluten free home cooks in the last year! I have been inspired, blessed, humbled, and encouraged as I follow along with you all on your adventures, and I hope to be equally supportive and encouraging in all of your endeavors!

 

Thanks to all of you who have been following along on this blogging adventure with me. I can hardly wait to see what the next year has in store!

5 thoughts on “Grow. Cook. Eat. Share. Turns One!

  1. I can’t believe it’s been a whole year on your GF journey and blog! Congratulations! I’ve very much enjoyed reading your blog, it’s been encouraging & inspiring!

Leave a Reply

